Banana Apple muffin

Ever since coming back from a trip to Madrid and Sevilla on Monday, I have been so swamped with parent teacher meetings, school snack sales, and kids’ well checkup and after school activities. In addition, I have been making every single meal. It’s like making up for the days that I was gone. As the result, I barely had time to read or write for myself… But thanks to the time difference between Spain and here. I have been up before 6 every morning. I have enjoyed my morning coffee while baking:-).

As always, my baking mostly uses what’re available or left in the refrigerator and/or pantry. There’re no exceptions this morning. I modified my one bowl banana chocolate bread recipe in the early posting to make these muffins.

Ingredients:

2 mid-size banana, mashed with a fork

1/2 cup of water or liquid of your preference

2 tablespoon avocado oil or oil in your preference (optional)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 mid-size apple, shredded about 1 cup

1 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour

2 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon cinnamon

pinch of sea salt (optional)

3-4 tablespoon organic raw sugar

1 heaping tablespoon of each: chia seeds, pumpkin seeds, golden flax seeds, and sunflower seeds (see notes)

In a big bowl, combined the mashed banana, water, oil if using, and the vanilla extract. In a glass measuring cup, mixed together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, sea salt if using, sugar, and the seeds. Stir the flour mixture into the wet ingredients. Last but not least, fold in the shredded apple. Baked at 350 for about 30 minutes. They are moist and sweet, perfect with coffee. By the way, I like making jumbo muffins instead of feeling guilty after munching more than one muffin^^.
image

image
Note:

For any health reasons, you can skip oil and add 1-2 tablespoon more liquid.

Feel free to decorate the top of the muffin with some rolled oats or swap the seeds with nuts and/or dried fruits. I am baking with seeds more nowadays because of the nut-free policy at the school.

 

Leave a comment