Sweet potato crackers

My kids are big fans of sweet potatoes. So I made these sweet potato crackers for their snacks from time to time. Today I used two different flour mix and put in extra effort by cutting one dough into bear shapes to surprise my daughter^^.

Sweet potato oat crackers

Ingredients:

3/4 cup roasted Korean sweet potato purée (see note)

3/4 – 1 cup organic oat flour (see note)

1 tablespoon grounded organic golden flaxseed (optional)

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon organic extra virgin olive oil (optional)

1/2 – 1 teaspoon cinnamon

Sweet potato buckwheat crackers

Ingredients:

3/4 cup roasted Korean sweet potato purée

3/4 cup buckwheat pancake mix (see note)

1 tablespoon chia seeds (optional)

1 tablespoon organic extra virgin olive oil (optional)

1/2 – 1 teaspoon cinnamon

In a bowl, add all ingredients for oat crackers and combine them with your hand. Knead gently to bring the dough together into a soft and smooth ball. Same for buckwheat crackers.
image

The key to crispy crackers is to roll the dough as thin as possible. If you have a pasta making machine and time, you can use it to roll out the dough into the desired thickness. But I just used a rolling pin to roll out the dough on a big plastic sheet or a parchment paper. Use any cookie cutters as you desired or simply use the pizza cutter to cut the roll out dough into your desired shape.

I baked these crackers at 350F for 15 minutes, flipped them over, and bake for another 10-15 minutes until they were crispy.
image

image

My daughter was smiling from ear to ear while eating these crackers and enjoyed all the compliments from her classmates. These crackers aren’t very sweet but perfect for snacking. You can sprinkle some raw sugar on the stop and brush some maple syrup or honey before baking if you prefer sweeter crackers. I stored these crackers in glass container but they  were gone less than a week:-).

Note:

I normally use Korean sweet potatoes that has yellow flesh and becomes so sweet and creamy after roasting. I once used the organic Japanese yam bought at whole food, but added 1 cup of flour to get to the right consistency of the dough.

I grind my own oat flour in the food processor. And I use bob’s red mill organic buckwheat pancake mix. You can substitute it with a mix of buckwheat and whole wheat pastry flour with 1/2 teaspoon baking powder.

 

 

Leave a comment