Blue cornmeal orange mini muffin

While I was debating whether to make buckwheat pancake or to pull out homemade granola with Greek yogurt yesterday morning, I suddenly remembered the bag of blue cornmeal that I bought two weeks ago. Thinking its purple color that will definitely thrill my daughter, I decided to try the recipe printed on the bag but with my own twist:-).
image
Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup blue cornmeal

Zest from one organic orange, about 1 tablespoon

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 cup organic sugar in the raw turbinado sugar or more to your preference

1/2 cup Greek yogurt (see note)

3 heaping tablespoon grounded golden flaxseed (see note)

1/2 cup water or milk of your preference

Half organic orange, diced

In a glass measuring cup, combine the grounded flaxseeds and the water and set aside for couple minutes.

In a bowl, zest the orange. Then, peel the orange and dice half orange. Also, grease the mini muffin tin.

In the same bowl, combine blue cornmeal, baking powder and sugar with orange zest. Fold in the yogurt and the flaxseed mixture. The batter was a bit sticky. Use the teaspoon to scoop the batter into the mini muffin tin. Last, gentlely press down the diced orange on the top of the mini muffin. Bake at 375F for about 12 minutes.
image
Aren’t these mini muffins gorgeous? The bright purple color from the cornmeal contrasted the bright yellow color from the orange. They have slightly sweet and nutty taste. The orange zest adds another layer of flavor and sweetness. They are nutritious and so easy to make. I just stored the leftover inside the glass container in the room temperature since it’s still on the chilly side at east coast. We had some more this morning and they weren’t dry at all. Give them a try!
image
Note:

I use Stonyfield Greek yogurt. You can substitute soy yogurt or coconut yogurt for vegan And dairy free. I also buy organic golden flaxseeds at whole food and grinded myself. Since there were about 3 tablespoonful of grounded flaxseeds left, I went all in. I am sure that two tablespoons are fine.

 

 

Leave a comment