Crust less sweet potato pie

I always joke that I can be a vegan if I can quit drinking wine. After putting my daughter to bed during the week or the weekend night, I would have a glass of wine while catching up news or watching movies. It’s sort of my way of slowing down from the fast-moving day and relaxing. But then, I get into this bad habit, snacking while drinking. These past few days, I have tried to steel away from mindless snacking at night. While I was checking inside the refrigerator for dinner idea yesterday afternoon, I saw the two peeled roasted sweet potatoes from the other day. I decided to bake this crust less sweet potato pie. As always, baking makes me happy and this healthy dessert after dinner helped me feel full and satisfied.

Ingredients:

2 to 3 roasted sweet potatoes, peeled and meshed with a fork, about 2 cups (see note)

3/4 cup water or milk of your preference (see note)

2 tablespoon grounded flaxseed or chia seeds

1-2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

1/2 cup buckwheat flour (see note)

1/4 cup organic sugar in the raw turbinado sugar or more to your preference

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 cup pecan (optional)

In the food processor, add roasted sweet potatoes, chia seeds or flaxseeds if using, pipkin pie spice, and water. Purée for a minute or two until the mixture resembles pancake batter texture (see below picture). If the mixture is too dry, add 1 tablespoon of liquid a time.
image
In a glass measure cup, combine buckwheat flour, sugar and baking powder. I used a Pyrus 9.5″ pie plate and didn’t bother to grease it. Pour in the sweet potatoes mixture first and then the flour mixture. Gently fold them together and sprinkle the top with roughly chopped pecan. Bake at 350F for about 50 minutes. I let it cool down on the dinning table.
image
After dinner, I can’t wait to cut myself a slice. It slided out nicely. But it’s moist and creamy. It’s not very sweet but the pumpkin pie spice compensate the sweetness. I wanted to savor every single bite but found myself quickly finish the whole slice and went for the second. Omg. Who is the one trying to stop overeating?
image
We finished the leftover today. The pie is as good as it was yesterday. Yummy!

Note:

I have made this pie couple times. Make sure that you roast the sweet potatoes on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil at 350F for about one hour. You want the roasted sweet potato on the dry side. Therefore, the sweet potato mixture won’t be too watery.

I used Arrowhead mills buckwheat flour. I have also made this pie with koda farm mochiko flour and 1% organic milk (substitute non-dairy milk for vegan). My kids like the chewy texture from the mochiko flour. But I like the buckwheat version.

I also prefer using golden ground flaxseed for smoother texture. But I ran out of it yesterday and used chia seeds instead.

Leave a comment